Monday - Friday
8:00 to 5:00
To accommodate our clients' busy schedules, we will extended our hours to meet your needs.
Please call (530) 233-4984 to make an appointment time that works for you.
Monica Derner, Certified Public Accountant is located in Alturas, California. Our attention to service and quality has made us an industry leader. At MONICA DERNER CPA the client always comes first, and we constantly strive to exceed your expectations! With our wide range of services, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for. We look forward to working with you to fulfill your financial needs and providing the tools you need to attain your business goals.
MONICA DERNER CPA offers a diverse range of services. We pride ourselves on providing you with high quality assistance in the activities listed on our services page of this website. Click on the link above to find out more.
Small or large, your request will be met with expert advice, individualized attention, and innovative solutions. Contact us and discover all we have to offer. Our staff is looking forward to speaking with you.
H.R. 1, known as the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, which both houses of Congress passed on Dec. 20, contains a large number of provisions that affect individual taxpayers. However, to keep the cost of the bill within Senate budget rules, all of the changes affecting individuals expire after 2025. Changes are effective for 2108 tax year. Also note that at this time, there is no revised form W4 to reflect the new tax tables.
Click here for more details.
California Minimum Wage
Hourly minimum rate is $11.00 for employers with more than 25 staff members and $10.50 for less than 25 staff members. This change is effective January 1, 2018. Click here for an increase schedule.
Exempt rate is twice the minimum hourly rate.
Piece rate must receive at least minimum wage for each hour worked.
EDD reminds California small employers to begin filing and paying taxes online on January 1 Click here for more information.
Healthy Workplace Family Act of 2014 (AB 1522)
While not so new, we feel it is still an important topic to bring attention to in order to support compliance efforts.
An employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for 30 or more days within a year from the beginning of employment, is entitled to paid sick leave. Employees, including part-time and temporary employees, will earn at least one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked. Accrual begins on the first day of employment or July 1, 2015, whichever is later. For more details, click AB1522.
For your convenience, we accept Pay Pal and major credit cards. Click the button below for online access to Pay Pal, or call or visit our office for credit card arrangements.